Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

[CIRTL] Developing a CV or Resume (online)

June 20, 2019 @ 11:00 am - 12:30 pm

Description

Participants will become familiar with the formats, purposes, and structures of various academic and professional CVs, through individual and group reviews of exemplary documents, and through drafting their own long-form CV and one shorter document (NSF or NIH biosketch, or non-academic resume). Participants will learn about opportunities to highlight their attainment of CIRTL learning outcomes and achievement levels in such documents. The use of Learning Communities (in a short-term virtual sense) will be modeled through a “real-time” peer review of documents drafted by participants.

Course Schedule

This three-part workshop meets online on Thursday, June 20, Tuesday, June 25, and Thursday, June 27, at 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT.

Workload

Participants will be expected to do some minor pre-work to prepare for the course, to draft or refine their own resume or CV, and to provide feedback on their peers’ resumes and CVs.

Registration & Enrollment

This course is limited to 60 participants. Early registration for CIRTL members only is open from April 23 through May 7. Regular registration runs from May 8 through May 24 at 12PM CT. STEM/SBE grad students and postdocs from CIRTL institutions receive priority; we refer to the institution, role, and discipline in your website profile when assessing priority.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Evidence-Based Teaching

  • Describe several known high-impact, evidence-based effective instructional practices and materials and recognize their alignment with particular types of learning goals.

Associate: Learning Community

  • Describe several techniques for creating a LC within a learning environment, including strategies that promote positive interdependence between learners so as to accomplish learning goals.
  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.

Associate: Teaching-as-Research

  • Describe how the integration of Evidence-Based Teaching, Learning Communities and Learning-through-Diversity within Teaching-as-Research can be integrated to implement and advance effective teaching practices for diverse learners.

Details

Date:
June 20, 2019
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/courses/392

Organizer

CIRTL
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/

Venue

online

Details

Date:
June 20, 2019
Time:
11:00 am - 12:30 pm
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/courses/392

Organizer

CIRTL
Website:
https://www.cirtl.net/

Venue

online