Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

CIRTL Webinar Series Exploring Careers in Teaching at a Community College (online)

January 30 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am

Introduction to Teaching at a Community College

Thursday, January 30 2020
  • 1:00pm EST
  • 12:00pm CST
  • 11:00am MST
  • 10:00am PST

Online in Blackboard Ultra

Cross Network

Description

Have you ever considered a teaching career at a community college? This career can have a high impact on students beginning their higher education journey and often includes a strong community focused work environment. The panel of faculty will discuss their experiences working in community colleges. The discussion will include equity and diversity at community colleges, panelists career trajectories, what they appreciate most about working at community colleges, and common misconceptions about the career. Bring your questions and prepare to explore this wonderful career path. This event is supported by and organized through NSF INCLUDES Aspire grant by the Regional Initiative group. Event Schedule This online event takes place on Thursday, January 30 at 1-2:30PM ET / 12-1:30PM CT / 11AM-12:30PM MT / 10-11:30AM PT. This event is part of the three-part CIRTLCast series “Exploring Careers in Teaching at a Community College,” organized through CIRTL and APLU’s NSF INCLUDES Aspire grant. Registration This drop-in, online event is open to the public. Anyone is welcome to attend, but you must register in order to attend. Once you register, you will have access to the Blackboard Ultra room where this online event will take place. Accessibility We strive to be inclusive of anyone interested in participating in our activities. If you have specific accessibility needs, please contact us at info@cirtl.net in advance so that we may make the necessary accommodations.

Learning Outcomes

Associate: Learning Community

  • Recognize the value of and participate in local professionally-focused learning communities associated with teaching and learning.

Associate: Learning-through-Diversity

  • Describe the scope of diversity in learning environments, of both students and instructor. (*Including but not limited to backgrounds, race, gender, ability, socio-economic status, ethnicity, gender preference, and cognitive skills)
  • Describe the impact of diversity on student learning, in particular how diversity can enhance learning, and how inequities can negatively impact learning if not addressed.
  • Describe how an instructor’s beliefs and biases can influence student learning.
  • Describe and recognize the value of drawing on diversity in the development of teaching plans (including content, teaching practices and assessments) to foster learning.
  • Describe several learning-through-diversity (LtD) techniques and strategies.

 

Visit the website here for more information!